Playing with Color

Do you ever feel stuck with your art?  Like maybe you have a lot of ideas but they’re not coming out right or maybe you’re getting bored with your usual style and subject matter.

I felt that way.  Finding my way back to my artist self since becoming a mother has been a long road filled with pot holes and dead ends with some really stellar views in between.  I feel like I’m finally starting to get the hang of juggling the needs of my family, myself, and my inner artist.

As a way to find focus and intention, I’m taking an art business and magic course led by Asheville artist Alena Hennessy. Although her style is very different from mine, I had a good time trying some of her techniques.  It reminded me of some of the art play I would do in my sketchbooks that led to my Rainbow Portraits.

She suggested we lay out 4 cradled wood panels and layer up liquid acrylic (I used my watercolor inks), more opaque paint, then paint a design on top.

IMG_20190217_215858796

I thought I would incorporate one of my favorite types of imagery: old farmhouses.  I still intend to do more oil painting landscape types of old houses, but in the mean time these were a lot of fun!  It felt great to loosen up and do something fresh and totally different.

set

I had to figure out how best to place the houses so they interacted with the abstract landscape behind them.

I love how the pink and purple blob in the one below transformed into a strange figure, which I helped to pop by painting around her and bringing out details.

IMG_20190224_152035044

The strange perspective on this one below draws attention to the sky above.

skystorm3

This one looks like something out of a fairy tale:

path home 1

I love how the green in this turned into a tree line that almost glows:

IMG_20190224_152422882

The cheerful colors really helped get me through all the rainy cold weather we’ve been having!  They’re available in my Etsy shop now! Bodelia.etsy.com

I can’t wait to get back into the studio and see what comes next!

Leave a comment