New Mural Started!

Kurt and I have finally gotten started on our very first mural on a truck.  It’s been a little tricky since we are only able to work on it in the evenings (it’s in use during the day on the weekends and we work during the work week).  The days are getting shorter so we only have a few hours after work to paint.  Here are a few pictures the owner took of our progress.

A dear friend from high school visited this weekend with her husband and two friends.  She was able to come see my exhibit before we took it down together.  I was so happy to show her my new paintings since she’s been so incredibly supportive of my art.  I’ve given her many paintings over the years and it’s always surreal to go to her house and actually see them hanging on the walls.  She cried, I cried, we cried together.  It was beautiful.

I toted her and her friends to one of my favorite places in the world- Max Patch.  We actually took a short hike there (first time I had done that) before we settled at the top for sunset and a little wine.

  It was a great visit.

On Sunday, Kurt  taught me how to build framed masonite panels for my new paintings.  I built four while he worked on some paintings.  Great way to spend a rainy Sunday and I can’t wait to start painting on them!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Jim says:

    It is really cool that you and Kurt are working on this together and I love the image of you both spending a rainy Sunday working on your respective art together. I am also very glad that Stacey and Joe got to visit and see the exhibit! I really need to go to Max Patch some time.

    1. harperleich says:

      we had a great time working together in the basement and the mural has been fun- we can reminisce about how we met painting under the bridge on the mural.

  2. Stacey says:

    And honestly, I just cried a little bit again 🙂 it is getting slightly embarrassing!

  3. Dasha says:

    Harper, I love showing your blog and pictures to friends and saying, “I know this AMAZING artist”!
    You. Are. Awesome.
    And so is your art and heart! Xo

    1. harperleich says:

      Dasha, you are so sweet! Can’t believe how little I’ve seen of you this summer… hope you’ve been enjoying it!

Leave a Reply

