Breaking out the Embroidery Floss

I seem to be taking a little break from oil painting.  Since I have hung the show, I have really enjoyed not painting for a while.  I’m sure this is perfectly natural and will not last forever.  I have a few ideas stewing but I’m content to let them bubble away on the back burner until I’m ready.

In the meantime, I’ve been itching to get started on something entirely different… freestyle embroidery!  I’ve done a fair amount of it in the past and am ready to start some new pieces.  Probably less like the embroidery paintings I have done in the past, more like some line work and patterns with some painterly depictions mixed in.

I’ve certainly been inspired by Rachell Sumpter’s book covers:

It’s no surprise she’s so amazing with thread considering her paintings are like far out embroidery pieces.

(I think the above is a collaboration with her husband, Jacob Magraw-Mickelson- I’m not quite clear on who did what- he may have made that one?)

The greatest inspiration for embroidery comes from something my grandmother made for me when I was 16:  a Christmas tree skirt crazy quilt with complex and often psychedelic embroidery covering every piece.  It is hands down the most precious thing I own and the most outstanding embroidery I’ve seen.

We’re due to start working on our box truck mural any day now… negotiations have been a little slow on both parties’ sides.  I’ll post pictures as we work.

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jim says:

    The tree skirt is a remarkable piece of art and a wonderful connection to Eris. I can’t wait to see what you do!

    1. harperleich says:

      I should really take some pictures of the tree skirt to share. It’s too amazing to keep tucked away!

Leave a Reply

