July and August

It has been such a relief to have the show up and all those paintings out of the house.  I really don’t know how I’ll fit them all back into our little house once it’s finished.  I was so happy to have my aunt, uncle, dad, and step mom all come out to see the show.

Since my last post, I’ve been to see my family in Rhode Island, more family came to visit, we hung out with some horses, bought too many $1 records,  went camping, hiked, and generally enjoyed life.

I am working on illustrating a book cover for a friend’s dad.  It’s still in the works but I’ll post it when I’m done.

We are also in negotiations to start on a box truck mural for a local business.  Hopefully that will be under way soon.  Big project!

Here are some photos from this past month:

Above is one of my favorite places: Black Balsam.

I saw this on an early morning foggy walk with the dog:

Every Monday, Calliope Cut Flowers brings me a beautiful bouquet of fresh cut flowers from her farm in Sandy Mush, NC.  It’s part of her fresh flower CSA.  I cannot emphasize enough how much these little beauties brighten my work week.  Here’s this week’s gem:

And Sunday night after lots of outdoor adventures (including swimming in an icy cold mountain river, abandoning our tent and belongings to flee the woods in the dark of night in a rain storm, and pleasant hiking and packing up of our campsite in the dry daylight) the boyfriend and I got out our acrylic paints, a big piece of cardboard and painted this together.  It was fun.

Life is good!  One more thing… My wonderful and talented friend Natalie just started working for charity:water.  Her job is to travel to where they have started working to bring clean water to people, document the people and the progress through her beautiful photos, and write about it.  She made her first trip to Rwanda earlier this summer and it had a huge impact on her.  For her 30th birthday she is asking for donations to reach a goal of $5,000.  Every single cent goes to help bring clean water to the very people she met on her trip there.  It’s day two and she’s almost half way there!  I think she’s going to met her goal and leave it in the dust.  Let’s help her!  If you’re not sure you care about it, just watch this video.  It made my eyes sweat and left me with a real sense of hope.  Good luck, Nat!

http://mycharitywater.org/p/campaign/?campaign_id=29414

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jim says:

    Love the photos! I did make a donation to Natalie’s birthday fundraising effort. She is doing some very important work.

Leave a Reply

