Untitled Painting

See?  I’ve been painting… here’s the proof.

It’s not the clearest photo but gives you an idea.  I didn’t measure it but I’d say it’s around 16″ tall.  That means tiny brushes on those faces!  It’s an oil painting on wood panel instead of my usual choice of canvas.  I might be a panel painter from now on- I hate those little dots that happen when painting on canvas.  The smoothness of the panel makes it much easier to get a silky texture in the painting.

I’ve been house/dog sitting (without my nice camera for taking photos of my painting).  This where I painted yesterday during a thunderstorm.

I can’t say I had ever painted out on a porch during a thunderstorm before.  It was awesome.  The painting didn’t go well but the experience was divine.  That’s Abner at the bottom of the frame.  He’s been keeping me company here.  We go on walks, he sneezes and sleeps.  It’s been very quiet and peaceful.

Yes, that’s a blank white canvas.  I started a new painting.  Wish me luck.

PS- I could really use some suggestions for a title of my new painting.  What are your ideas?  Take a minute to stare at it and let me know what you think!

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Stacey says:

    What about ‘the season greets’ for a title?

    1. harperleich says:

      i like it! nice play on words.

  2. Jim says:

    I love the idea of the wooden panels. Where do you get them? Love the new painting!

    1. harperleich says:

      I only had this one and it was a scrap that another artist gave me. i have very small panels that I got at a craft store, but they have a cheesy edge to them. I need to research what type of wood to buy and how to prep!

Leave a Reply

