“Listening”

My most recently completed painting, “Listening”, was also based on a photo from the same shoot I mentioned in my last post. This is what it ended up looking like:

And this is what it was based on:

The painting is about communicating with the plants around us.  I imagine it as a visual example of what some of us do when we’re out in the woods or fields, harvesting for medicine making, or simply enjoying the beauty of nature around us.  Plants have a lot to teach us, if we’re willing to be quiet and listen.  And sometimes we can talk back, if we’re able to speak clearly and from our hearts.

I entered this painting into a juried show this past November.  It’s a local annual show in Mills River.  In years past, I have entered and not been accepted.  I made the bargain with whoever was listening that if I were accepted to the show and won a prize, I would take it as solid encouragement from the universe and would act accordingly.  In other words, if I won any prize or honor, I would work much harder, paint more paintings, and do my best to get them into galleries and out into the world.  Really push myself to create and to promote.

Well…I won first place!  It was a strong message to me.  I’m doing my best to hold up my end of the bargain.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Maria says:

    Wow! This is fabulous! Congratulations!

    1. harperleich says:

      Thanks, Maria! I love your blog as well!!

  2. Stacey says:

    When the universe calls you must respond…

Leave a Reply

