From Here to There

I was thinking it might be kind of interesting to share some of the reference photos that I use for my paintings.  It might take some of the romance and mystery out of my work, but I’m willing to take that risk.  As I said in a previous post, I am, unfortunately or not, a painter who really needs good reference photos to work from.  For my recent series of paintings, I worked from photographs that I took with two wonderfully generous friends on a beautiful day on a Fairview mountainside.  Alyssa of Calliope Cut Flowers and Jessica graciously agreed to be my models.  Alyssa brought a bucket of GORGEOUS flowers she grew on her flower farm and the two set to work making a flower crown and a flower hat.   We were waiting for that magical golden hour when everything is alive with warmth and vitality and even the simplest things look exquisite.

You know… like this:

Of course, it’s easy to get beautiful, magical pictures when your subjects exemplify those words.  I was so happy with how the photos turned out that I ended up making three paintings (so far) from that day’s shoot.  I have a few more images sketched on canvas that I haven’t started painting yet.

So, here goes!turns into “Calliope’s Crown”…..

Pretty different, pretty similar.

Maybe I’ll share some others, too…

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Dad says:

    That was interesting. Share some more!

    Dad

  2. Leon says:

    Like the work please share some more
    Leon

Leave a Reply

